Skip to content

Did I Mention How Much I Hate Avvo.com? (or, Avvo Sucks)

April 24, 2011

Avvo.com (no, the rat-bastards* don’t get a link-through from me) is this website ostensibly set up to help the public sort through lawyers with this allegedly neutral ranking.  They use this three-criteria system (1-5 dots each) to arrive at a rating from 1-10: Experience, Industry Recognition, Professional Conduct.

I suppose it might not be a bad idea except for the Profile by Conscription part.  See, they make you a page whether you like it or not.  If you claim it, you start getting rated based on the above critera/scale.  And it means virtually nothing.  But that don’t mean the public knows that.

My ranking was 8.6 at one point, but inexplicably dropped to 6.6.  This was after I stopped spending my valuable time adding information to the site to try to up my rating.  Interestingly, it was Industry Recognition (the only category I really have any control over) that dropped. Explained below.

Also, in addition to inexorable invites to start paying these folks (not for ratings, mind you [emoticon]),  Avvo sends me these updates warning me that fewer than 10 people viewed my profile in x-days.  Good.

Anyway, I’ve been thinking about it for a while, and maybe am just in a mood, but I went in and posted the following to the “About Me” section of my profile:

Please note that I despise Avvo and its entire involuntary-participation ratings-based concept.  They create the page for you whether you like it or not, so you are essentially obliged to fill in information on your involuntary profile, and get penalized if you don’t add the information they like, or that you are not willing to share (like a list of clients, cases, etc.).

My lowest rating criterion on Avvo is for “Industry Recognition.”   That’s because I spend my time working cases for my clients, not currying favor among my peers or chasing the spotlight.  And for that, Avvo penalizes me.

If I could delete my profile from Avvo.com, I would.

Yeah, that felt good.

* Strictly speaking, it could be considered libel for me to call a person the “issue of fornicating rodents.”  Except Avvo is not an individual, and no person would reasonably believe that Avvo was actually sired by unwed rats, so I think I’m in the clear here.

_______________________________________

Update 4/25/11

Check this out.  I post the above yesterday, and I get this email today.  Coincidence? (Probably)  But my point is made – sucking up to my peers (i.e. politicizing my practice) or spending time adding to my profile is what they want from me … (in addition to money if they can get it).

Would you like to learn how to increase your Avvo Rating from 6.6 to a 7 or higher? The key is to make sure your Avvo profile is as complete as possible. Think of the algorithm that generates the Avvo Rating as a resume scoring system. The more information that you provide about your legal career, the better chance you have at attaining a higher rating.

Avvo Rating Checklist

Make sure you input all years for bar admission(s), education and work experience. Also make sure that all of your relevant work experience is listed.
If you have prestigious speaking or writing engagements or have received prestigious awards, be sure to list them. Make sure to include your most recent engagements and accolades as the age of items in your Avvo Profile matters.
Request endorsements from peers. Peer endorsements are important as they can positively influence the Avvo Rating.
Review your profile every 6 months to keep it up-to-date. Each year we make updates to the Avvo Rating. These updates are due to community feedback and other global refinements. The more up-to-date and robust your profile is, the less chance these changes will have a negative impact on your rating.

Client reviews do not influence the Avvo Rating, however they can help tremendously in influencing a potential client to contact you in their time of need.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2011 3:16 pm

    So why haven’t you sued AVVO?

    • July 12, 2011 12:49 pm

      One: I couldn’t show any damage. Two: I don’t see a cause of action that would pass the laugh test (defamation by algorithm?). Three: Lawsuits are a nightmare when you’re a party, and should only be a last resort. And being annoyed is not a good reason to sue. Being substantially harmed by someone’s actionable behavior may be, but I have neither of those. So, I have to be content to vent on this one.

  2. Jack permalink
    January 16, 2013 3:09 pm

    You should post this on AVVO, at least 6 attorneys will solicit your business.

  3. Avvo sucks permalink
    March 2, 2013 5:09 pm

    Avvo sucks. Avvo simply trolls for lawyers. Based on what I can tell, everyone initially gets three stars for experience, one star for industry recognition, and five stars for ethics. Then Avvo sends email after email to the lawyer trying to get the lawyer to buy up the rating. Avvo is a complete joke. Avvo is smut, if you ask me.

  4. April 9, 2013 8:20 am

    Wonderful. I agree.

  5. S.H. permalink
    June 6, 2013 9:51 am

    TC:

    If you still feel this way, then please leave avvo a review on yelp. Just google “yelp avvo” and it will be the second link.

  6. NJ Marinaro permalink
    June 11, 2013 1:00 am

    I have to agree with you. I contacted three lawyers through AVVO and found that 100% do not respond to requests through them or phone calls mentioning AVVO. In my case, I wasted three weeks trying to make contact only to find what appears to be a marketing scam. Some fool from that place did say that the lawyers are probably in court. Great, a lawyer who doesn’t answer email or have someone checking his mail. How much does a secretarial service cost?

  7. Anne Brady permalink
    September 8, 2014 10:34 am

    Clients who did not like it when I told them what the law said fired me within 24 hours of signing a fee agreement and then trashed me in an Avvo “review” and Avvo will not take it down. They claim they are immune from liability.

Leave a Reply

